What's new index

What's new - coming soon

Ferrari Shell Historic Challenge

General Regulations

Article 1 - Organizer
Article 2 - Races
Article 3 - Cars
Article 4 - Categories
Article 5 - Entrants-Drivers
Article 6 - Technical Regulations
Article 7 - Publicity
Article 8 - Safety
Article 9 - Events
Article 10 - Points
Article 11 - Challenge Final Classification
Article 12 – Organization Committee

Ferrari S.p.A. organizes the "Ferrari Shell Historical Challenge" following the appendices K of the FIA International Sporting Code.

Location Date
1. Spa May 3rd
2. Dijon June 28th
3. Silverstone July 26th
4. Daytona . November t.b.a
  • All original racing Ferrari with covered wheels from 1947 to 1973
  • Pre-war Scuderia Ferrari Alfa Romeos will also be accepted
  • Modified road cars, fakes, replicas and complete reconstruction’s will not be allowed
  • The maximum number of cars accepted at the start of each race will be limited to 50

Category n 1

Pre-war Scuderia Ferrari Alfa Romeos or similar and 1940 Auto-Avio Costruzioni 815

Category n 2 1947-1956

V12 front engine cars

166 SC, 166 MM, 195 S, 212 Export, 340 America, 225 S, 250 S, 340 Mexico, 250 MM, 340 MM, 375 MM, 375 Plus, 250 Monza, 250 GT, 410 S

Category n 3 1953 -1957

4 cylinder and 6 cylinder front engine cars only fitted with drum brakes

625 TF, 735 S, 500 Mondial, 750 Monza, 121 LM, 857 S, 500 TR, 860 Monza, 625 LM, 500 TRC

Category n 4 1956-1959

V12 front engine cars only fitted with drum brakes

290 MM, 250 GT, 315 S, 335 S, 250 TR, 412 MI

Category n 5 1959-1966

GT front engine cars only fitted with disc brakes

In this category will be included cars from categories 2, 3 and 4 not fitted with their original engine, gearbox, wheels or if fitted with disc brakes

250 GT, 250 GTO, 275 GTB/C

Category n 6 1959-1963

Front engine sports cars

250 TR, 196 S, 246 S, 330 TR, 330 LM

Category n 7 1963-1968

Sports cars and prototypes with middle engine, plus 365 GTB/4 with the following chassis numbers

12467, 12547, 13367, 13855, 14065, 14141, 14407, 14429, 14437, 14885, 14889, 15225, 15373, 15667, 15681, 15685, 16343, 16363, 16367, 16407, 16425, 16717

250 P, 275 P, 250/275 LM, 330 P, 275 P2, 330 P2, 330 P3, 412 P, 330 P4, 365 P, 196 SP, 206 S, 246 SP, 248 SP, 268 SP, 286 SP

Category n 8 1969-1973

Sports cars and prototypes with middle engine

312 P V12, 512 S, 512 M, 312 P Boxer, 350 CanAm, 612 CanAm, 712 CanAm

When possible and according to the number of cars entered, each event will be divided in 2 races. The first race will be composed of categories 1-2-3-4 and the second race of categories 5-6-7-8.

  • Points will be given to the drivers
  • It is possible for the drivers to use different cars during the season
  • All entrants and drivers must have an International FIA License valid for historical racing
  • F1 drivers and professional drivers will be allowed to take part in the Challenge but will not score points. The professional drivers will be allowed to take part in the Challenge but will not score points. The provisional list of these drivers will be published in appendix 1.
  • All cars must have a FIA identify form
  • To be eligible a car must have its original chassis with its original identification marks
  • All cars have to be in their original specifications, especially concerning the engine, gearbox, wheels and brakes. When a car originally fitted with drum brakes has been modified with disc brakes, it will automatically be upgraded to category n 4. It is the same for the cars which do not have their original (type) engine, gearbox or wheels, they will automatically be upgraded.
  • All cars must have also their original cubic capacity unless it has been changed at the time on the precise car and raced like that within 3 years after the car was born. It will not allow the other cars of the same type to do so.
  • Tyres will have to be DUNLOPs Racing in compound 204 section L up to category 4 and M for category 5 and 6 except for categories 7 and 8 which will be allowed to use AVON tyres or GOODYEAR "Bluestreak". The 365 GTB4 Gr4 will have to use DUNLOPs Racing in compound 484
  • Michelin – Engelbert tyres are allowed in categories 1-2-3-4.
  • CanAm cars will be allowed to use slicks
  • For categories 1-2-3-4-5-6 and the 365 GTB4 it is forbidden to groove tyres and modify their original pattern.
  • All cars from category 1 to 6 must have tyres with tread grooves at least 2mm deep.
  • All tyres will be checked during scrutineering at any moment during the event.

The competitors will have to put on their cars the publicity of the organizers. Any additional publicity on the car must not be in competition with the publicity of the organizers and will have to follow the rules of the appendix K of the FIA Sporting Code.

All drivers must wear a FIA homologated crash helmet as well as FIA homologated overalls, underwear, gloves and balaclava.

All cars up to 1960 must be fitted with:

  • a main switch (general circuit breaker)
  • a 2,5 kg fire extinguisher
  • a 2 liter oil catch tank for cars up to 2000 cm3 (only for cars with wet sump)
  • a 3 liter oil catch tank for cars over 2000 cm3 (only for cars with wet sump)
  • a separate spring for each carburetor inlet
  • 2 rear view mirrors
  • an additional safety catch on the engine cover and on the trunk
  • a tow-eye at the front and at the rear of the car
  • From 1961 on, all cars have to be fitted with a semi-automatic fire extinguisher spitting in the cockpit and in the engine compartment as well as with a homologated roll-bar and homologated saftey-belts.

The events will be composed of 2 races. Drivers will score points for each race.

1. Spa 2 races of 8 laps
2. Dijon 2 races of 10 laps
3. Silverstone 2 races of 8 laps
4. Daytona t.b.a
  Points given per category for each of the 8 events
  5 4 3 2 1
1 8 5 4 3 2
2 6 4 3 2  
3 4 3 2    
4 3 2      
5 2        
all finishers 1        
  • To get points, each car will have to do at least 2 laps in the race
  • Each classified competitor will get one additional point

The winner of the Challenge will be the driver who has got the most important number of points by addition of the 8 races.

An award will be granted to the winner of each category.

In the case of two cars with the same number of points, the oldest car will take the advantage.

At the end of the Challenge there will be a special award for the following drivers

1st driver with a GT with drum brakes
1st driver with a GT with disc brakes

Categories may be modified following the number of entrants, in order to have an equal number of cars in each of them.

This Challenge is organized by Ferrari and Shell by invitation.

The choice of the cars will be made by a committee composed of technicians and historical specialists attached to Ferrari, and their decision will be definitive.

President Luca di Montezemolo
Vice President Antonio Ghini
Challenge Manager Luca Matteoni
Technical Advisor Jean Sage
Scruteneer Angelo Amadesi
Copyright Feedback Home Home - Barchetta Library Events