The Classic and Sports Car Portal
Follow us on MediaCenter
Follow us on Twitter
Submit Photos
 Previous page

Estoril Classics Week, 02 – 07.10.2018

The Estoril Classics Week comprised of three main elements, the Rallye de Portugal Histórico, a concours and a historic race meeting at the Estoril circuit. The Rallye de Portugal Histórico featured an international entry list of 87 teams, of which 15 were from Portugal and 72 from a wide range of other countries, including in alphabetical order, Andorra, Belgium, Canada, France, Italy, Lithuania, Monaco, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The rally had started at the Estoril Casino on 02 October and took competitors through Figueira da Foz, Braga, Viseu, Sintra and concluded at the Estoril circuit on Saturday the 6th, with a pair of slalom stages on the main pit straight. It also featured demonstration runs by former rally stars Stig Blomqvist and Miki Biasion in a Group B Audi Quattro and Lancia Delta Integrale respectively.

 Next page

The event is run by the Cascais Tourism Association, with promoters Race Ready - Iberian Historic Racing, ACP - Automóvel Club de Portugal and Motor Clube do Estoril, together with the support of Estoril Sol and the Estoril Autodrome. Jointly they pulled together a wide ranging gathering, spanning many genres of classic motorsport, with, for spectators, the rare opportunity of free admission to the track and the concours, with only a nominal €10 entry fee to the circuit paddock. The track racing activity included classic Formula 1 cars, some of which were a Brabham BT37, Hesketh 308, McLaren M26, Surtees TS9, Tyrrell 011 and a Williams FW07. Other races were for the Troféu Mini, pre-1981 Group 1 cars and Sports & GT cars, together with World Grand Prix Bike Legends, with motorcycle racing legends Wayne Gardner, Phil Read and Freddie Spencer in attendance. Owners of classic cars had their own dedicated parking area within the paddock, adding to the diversity of vehicles in attendance.

This was the sixth edition of the ACP Concurso de Elegancia, held in the trim gardens of the Casino in Estoril which run down to the seafront promenade. There were a total of 56 cars in seven classes, which for this year were Vintage, Post Vintage, Aston Martin, American Post-War, Post-War Sport, ‘60s & ‘70s Sport and GT and 'Psychedelic Dreams', with the class winners eligible for the Best of Show Award as determined by the judges. Apart from the formal judging there was also a People’s Choice Award by ballot. There was also a display of classic fire vehicles and ambulances as used by the Portuguese authorities over the years, and a dedicated classic car parking zone adjacent to the gardens. The event also included live music, street animation, with entertainers in period costume, and a parade along the promenade. The final results were a Ferrari lock-out, with the 1955 Ferrari 500 Mondial, s/n 0564MD/0424MD, of André Villas-Boas taking the Best of Show Award, whilst the 1950 Ferrari 166 MM Touring Barchetta, s/n 0056M, of Robert van Zyl, won the People’s Choice Award.

Concurso de Elegancia Results

Historic Significance Award

1950 Ferrari 166 MM Touring Barchetta, s/n 0056M, Robert van Zyl

Extraordinary Design Award

1972 Citroen DS23 Pallas, Joao Mello Sampayo

National Restoration Award

1934 MG TA, Joao Novonha

Sporting Spirit Award

1952 Morgan Plus 4, Joao Lemos Gomes

Preservation Award

1966 Citroen DS21 Pallas Palm Beach Chapron Convertible, André Besnard

Vintage Class Winner

1927 Chevrolet Phaeton, José Mira

Post Vintage Class Winner

1939 Delahaye 135 M Cabriolet GL Chapron, Ricardo Saragga

Post War Sport Class Winnner

1955 Ferrari 500 Mondial, s/n 0564MD/0424MD, André Villas-Boas

Psychedelic Dreams Class Winner

1958 Maserati 3500 GT, Matthias Hinz

Post War American Class Winner

1966 Ford Mustang Convertible, Fernando Almeida

Sport & GT ‘60s & ‘70s Class Winner

1966 Citroen DS21 Pallas Palm Beach Chapron Convertible, André Besnard

Aston Martin Class Winner

1954 Aston Martin DB2, José Brandao

People’s Choice Award

Ferrari 166 MM Touring Barchetta, s/n 0056M, Robert van Zyl

Best of Show Award

1955 Ferrari 500 Mondial, s/n 0564MD/0424MD, André Villas-Boas

Keith Bluemel