1 2 3 4 5 6

® ®
Made with StudioLine Made with StudioLine
Made with StudioLine

The third annual Carmel-By-The-Sea Concours On The Avenue was held on Tuesday 11 August 2009, and is a show which in its short lifespan has become a firm fixture as the opening event to the Monterey historic week activities. The setting for the concours is Ocean Avenue in Carmel, on the Monterey Peninsula, which was put on the international map when star actor/director Clint Eastwood became Mayor, and the town still has his famous Hog’s Breath Inn amongst its many fine restaurants. The current Mayor is Sue McCloud, who wholeheartedly supports the event, and the benefits it brings to the Carmel Foundation, a charitable organisation that assists senior citizens in a variety of ways, from home help, through transport and entertainment to affordable housing.
Last year the concours encompassed two days, the first being multi-marque, and the second for Ferrari and Porsche. However, this year the organisers, Motor Club Events LLC, decided to consolidate the event into a single day, with the concours field extended by two blocks of Ocean Avenue to accommodate the expanded entry. The consolidation, with a greater variety of cars, certainly seemed to work, as local police estimated that there were three times as many people on Ocean Avenue compared to last year.
The gathering started with a ticketed pre-show al fresco soirée at the Bernabus Lodge Winery in Carmel Valley, where, apart from fine food and wine, there was musical and magical entertainment, fire dancers, book signings, and some of the concours feature cars and motorcycles, including a Porsche 904 and a 917, together with the new Lotus Evora. As is often the case on the Monterey peninsular, concours day dawned warm but rather dull and misty, but that didn’t detract from the gleaming paintwork of the entrant’s vehicles as they gathered on Ocean Avenue. The range of automobiles on display was very diverse, ranging from Micro-cars like the 1958 BMW Isetta 300 Bubble car, through the Historic Race class, which featured everything from a 1948 Kurtis Midget Racer to the 1968 “Fighting Irish” Dragster, with a 1959 OSCA S-Type and a 1958 Lotus XI Le Mans along the way. A novelty, and great crowd pleaser, in the American Family Favourites class was the 1965 Ford F-150 Hackney Ice Cream Truck, with the driver in suitable period attire ringing the welcome bell, whilst the duo-tone lilac 1956 Dodge La Femme also attracted a great deal of attention, as did the always popular Hot Rods.
Porsche were the featured marque at the Monterey Historic Race Meeting, therefore it was no surprise that there were many in town, and there were no less than seventy examples on Ocean Avenue for the concours, whilst Ferrari was the second largest group with thirty examples on the entry list. Unfortunately, the earliest example entered, a 1950 195 Inter Touring Berlinetta, was a no show due to mechanical problems just prior to the event. The star Ferrari turn was the 250 Testa Rossa, chassis # 0666, of Jon & Mary Shirley, which he had run at the pre-historic race meeting the previous weekend, and was running again in the main event the following weekend. Despite its race outings, it was in magnificent shape, and took the overall Best of Show award. The day concluded with a buffet dinner for entrants and guests at the always superb Il Fornaio Italian restaurant, situated at the junction of Ocean Avenue and Monte Verde Street, where everybody was able to wind down and relate their highs and lows of the day’s events.
David O’Neill

Michael G. Tillson - Chief Judge Multi-Marques
Bruce Anderson - Chief Judge Porsche
Parker Hall - Chief Judge Ferrari

Multi-Marques 1940 Through 1973
Porsche 1948 Through 1989
Ferrari 1947 Through 1989

Major Awards

The Dennis A. Levett Best Of Show Award

(for the entry that is the unanimous choice of the Chief Class Judges selected from the First in Class winners)

1957 Ferrari 250 Testa Rossa

 0666TR Jon And Mary

Shirley, Medina, WA

The Barry Rilliet Porsche Cup
(for the Porsche selected by the Chief Class Judges)

1959 Porsche 356 A Coupe

 106743 Rich Peters,

San Mateo, CA

The Tom And Virginia Jennaro Ferrari Cup
(for the Ferrari selected by the Chief Class Judges)

1963 Ferrari 250 GT/Lusso  

 5003   Paul Schwartz,

Orinda, CA

The Erik T. Bethel American Excellence Cup
(for the automobile that best represents the era when American cars turned heads around the world)

1958 Cadillac Eldorado Brougham

 402   John Campbell,

Irvine, CA

The Christie L. Miller British Cup

(for the automobile that best represents post-World War II British excellence)

1958 Lotus Eleven Le Mans

 506   Bruce Miller,

Alamo, CA

The Robert J. Richards Continental Cup
(for the automobile that best represents post-World War II Continental excellence)

1961 Maserati 3500 GT Coupe  

 101-1550 Harry

Garschagen Of Carmel, California

The Chamber Of Commerce Trans Atlantic Pacific Cup
(for the entry that best represents speed whether in a straight line, around a track or on the street)

1987 Porsche 962-C Coupe  

 962C-110 Steve Schuler

And Terry Healy, Brisbane, AUS

The Carmel Foundation Award
(for the automobile that might be seen in period on Scenic road with the driver showing visitors the sights)

1940 Cadillac Town Car  

 3320647 Academy Of

Art, San Francisco, CA

The Michael T. Lynch Award
(for the entry that best represents excellence in engineering)

1964 Porsche 904

 006 Stanley Gold,

Burbank, CA

The Sue McCloud Mayor's Cup
 (for the individual that best represents THE spirit of motoring  and of Carmel-By-The-Sea Concours On The Avenue)

Kevin Enderby, Redwood City, CA   With

1984 Ferrari 308 GTS  


The Michael Furman Artist's Choice Award
(for the entry that exudes design and aesthetic excellence that satisfy an artist's eye)

1961 Aston Martin DB4 GT Zagato

 0186 R Peter Read,

Berkeley, CA

 The Robert "Charlie" Mast Automotive Magazine Award
(for the entry that a magazine would most like to describe for it's readership)

1959 Corvette Scaglietti Coupe

 J59s102367 Cliff

Hansen, Lake Tahoe, CA

The Steve J. Rana Preservation Award
(for the entry that is the very essence of originality and authenticity surviving through the years without ever having been restored

1965 Porsche 356 SC Coupe  

 222568 Jerry Kiliany,

Granite Bay, CA

The Michael G. Tillson III Radnor Hunt Cup
 (for the entry that has been sympathetically restored)

1958 Porsche 356A Speedster

 84537  John Craighill,

Carmel-By-The-Sea, CA

The Sam Garrett Ocean Avenue Motor Club Award
 (for the entry that best represents the hard-to-define fun factor)
1965 Ford F-150 Hackney Body "Good Humor" Ice Cream Truck

Scott R. Boses And Celesta

Pappas-Boses, LA, CA

Class Awards
Class:     166/195/212/250


1957 Ferrari 250 Testa Rossa  0666TR Jon



1963 Ferrari 250 GTL Lusso  5003GT Paul



1958 Ferrari 250 GT LWB TdF  0905GT Fred

Class:      275


1965 275 GTB  6693 Jack



1966 275 GTS  8005

Robert Brower Sr.


1966 275 GTB  7927

Edward Nigro
Class:      330/365 GTC


1968  330 GTC  11247

William And Alisa Kling


1967  330 GTC  10105 Jack

And Judy Fitzpatrick



Class:      365 GTB/4


1972   365 GTB/4  15425 Alan



1973   365 GTB/4A  17083 Troy



1973   365 GTB/4  16953 Bill

And Linda Feldhorn
Class:      Flat 12


1987   512 TR  72631 Nick





1974  365 GT4/BB  17929

David Nier
Class:      206/246/308/328


1984   308 GTS QV  50301

Kevin Enderby


1989   328 GTS  79970

Sherman Ting


1983   308 GTS QV  46965 Roy

And Barbara Riccetti