09.09.2012, 13:42:02 cet
Fosti con me nel pericolo e nella vittoria
Top of page
Results Results
Schedule Schedule
Gallery Gallery
Career Career
Fitness Fitness
Culinaria Culinaria
Hobby Hobby
Info Info
 Home  Home
Family Family
Contact Contact
 Copyright  Copyright
News News

Braselton, November 28, 2001

American Le Mans Series class champions Emanuele Pirro and Terry Borcheller have been nominated for the 2001 Auto Racing All-America Team, to be selected by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA).

Pirro, from Italy, who drove for Audi Sport North America, was the LMP 900 class champion in the sports car endurance racing series. Borcheller, from Phoenix, drove for Konrad Team Saleen and won the GTS class championship. Pirro scored three American Le Mans Series wins in the eight events held in the 2001 season and was on the podium in seven of the eight races. He was paired with points runner-up Frank Biela in all of the events. Pirro was also part of the winning team in the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second straight year.

Borcheller co-drove to victory in the prestigious 12-hour event at Sebring in March for his first-ever ALMS win, and later scored a victory at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. He was on the podium in all eight races and set the fastest lap in seven of them. He was also the fastest GTS qualifier four times.

Twelve drivers will be selected to the All-America Team, including two in the road racing category. Other categories include open wheel, stock cars, drag racing, short track and at large. All will be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet in January, to be held in Pomona, Calif. AARWBA members have selected the All-America Team each year since the formation of the program in 1970. Voting is currently underway, with the members of the team to be announced in December.

Allan McNish, the 2000 American Le Mans Series champion, was a member of the 2000 AARWBA All-America Team.

Terry Borcheller, Saleen S7R
Emanuele Pirro in the Infineon Audi R8 #2
Emanuele Pirro celebrates his title